Zucchini Muffins

Zucchini bread is great, and recently I made two loaves for my girlfriend’s mother’s birthday. Blueberry Lemon, and Chocolate chip – and they came out marvelous. This week we got extra zucchini in our farm share bag, and Alexa had a recipe in mind for Zucchini Muffins. They are so tasty! To make them a little more healthy I added whole oats, ground flax and chia seeds. The muffins provide a nice crunch – from the walnuts and shredded zucchini (Seriously thank god for my food processor).

It has been awhile since I last posted, because things have been crazy for the last week and a half because we just moved into our new apartment. Just when you think you have everything, you end up realizing you missed something. Finally, I was able to take some time this morning to find my happy baking place.

Last night, Alexa treated me to a wonderful dinner – and I wanted to return the favor and make a tasty snack/breakfast for the rest of the week.

What you need:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup whole oats

1 -2 tsp ground flax & chia (Mine is pre-ground and mixed)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

2 large eggs  or **Flax EGG**

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup unpeeled, shredded zucchini

 

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 – grease muffin pan with cooking spray and a little bit of butter around the edges of each muffin hole (I used soyfree earth balance)

  2. Combine all dry ingredients, and then add in the wet ingredients. Fold in the zucchini last.

  3. Mix, but don’t overmix. Batter should be somewhat bumpy, with some bubbles.

  4. Place batter filling halfway to three quarters of the way up.

  5. Place in oven and bake 20 minutes to 22 minutes or until fork comes out of the center clean. Enjoy!

 

IMG_2742IMG_2747IMG_2748IMG_2749I adapted this recipe for my muffins!IMG_2755

Leave a Reply

